20 Comments

For me the best wines are from Muga Rioja y Vega Sicilia Ribera del Duero. Outstanding!

Expand full comment

We live in San Sebastian 6 months of the year. So we get a lot of txaxoli. Can't go wrong with the txomin tx which you will find more often.

But we strongly recommend the katalin if you see it. Also look out for white rioja (typically viura). Happy to share a glass with anyone passing through. Barnabygrist@gmail.com

Expand full comment

Priorat, but I'm biased of course 😉 otherwise, I'm definitely Team Rioja in the great Tempranillo debate.

Expand full comment

House Ribeiro from the barrel in a jug - at A Caldeira, Gijón! That's always my first stop straight from the Oviedo Airport :)

Expand full comment

Txakoli !!!!!

Expand full comment
founding

López De Heredia Viña Tondonia Rioja Reserva and several albariños.

Expand full comment

We had Mixtura Blanco, a bland of Treixadura and Albariño Blanco at Bazaar in DC and lived it. While in Spain last month we asked for this wine but it was hard to find and we were introduced to La Casa de Las Locas Treixadura and their Godello!! Special bonus is that they have women and cats on their labels and corks!!!

Expand full comment

Oops! *loved it

Expand full comment

We took a trip to Bouquet d'Alella near Barcelona last year. Lovely experience all around, people, wines, and location.

Expand full comment

Priorat! Vall Llach Priorat Porrera Vi De Villa (2008), Clos I Terrasses Laurel (2015), Cellers de Scala Dei Pla dels Angels (2018), etc. Add in Monstant i Terra Alta for the area. Highly anticipating three 2018 Merum Desti and a 2014 Spectacle Vins Monsant Espectacle in the near future. One cannot ignore Rioja, Ribera, Mencia, Toro, Rias Baxas and Basque Country (last bottle of txakoli Iraberri in the frig), but why stop there? Best QPR in the world, hands-down.

Expand full comment

Tempranillos from the Rioja region are some of my favorite wines in the world. And visiting Haro is a fabulous way to experience several bodegas in one or two days. You can walk to so many of them and have a fabulous day. Some of my favorites were Gomez Cruzado, R. López de Heredia, Muga and CVNE. Enjoy!

Expand full comment

If it’s the best of the best that you seek, look no further than the 2014 Pinea from Ribera del Duero, Spain. Rich, thick tannins, cherry, chocolate, oak, and plenty of blueberry. While it is a bit on the pricey side. The bottle is absolutely worth the expense.

Expand full comment

Lately, I like Breca (Garnacha) and Honoro de Vera wines (Rioja and Tempranillo).

Also, Garnacha de Fuego.

Marques de Caceres Rioja from 2004 was one of my favorites.

Expand full comment

Uff, while in the Basque region, we visited Casa Primicia and enjoyed a silky and sexy Tempranillo they call Cofradia. AMAZING. Can't go wrong with Txomin txaxoli as one other person said. I agree with the list of wines mentioned here also, buy the people below me. Love Godello, Lopez de Heredia, stayed at Marques de Riscal and sampled some very rare reds that made my toes curl... Ah! SPAIN!

Expand full comment

In San Sebastián-Donostia a couple of weeks ago. Had to try the Txakoli. Surprised to find it fun and refreshing. Easy to go to several (many) pintxos bars and drink freely without any problems or regrets. It went down so easy.

Expand full comment

Iwe were in Barcelona several years ag. Had this amazing cava Krista. A bottle that has an egg shape unable to stand very unique. The wine was wonderful

Expand full comment

Vall Llach Priorat Porrera Vi De Villa. Terrior Al Limit used to make my favorite Vi De Villa, but it seems they no longer produce it which is a shame. Lopez De Heredia is amazing! Their Gravonia might be the best white I've ever had. I prefer Bosconia to Tondonia on the Red for the extra spice and better value, but you certainly can't go wrong with either. I'd say Do Ferreiro for Albarino, but there are several great ones. Spanish wine is definately my favorite. There are very few places in the world where you can find better value.

Expand full comment

Spanish wines are my favorite. I think that this region has the best value for quality wines. One of my favorites is a wine named Escorlada that is sold by a local wine store. The wine is made from 100% Garnacha Tintorera grapes. The wine store often has the wine on sale for $14.95. The wine is bold and complex and outstanding, especially for the price.

Expand full comment

I recently bought a bottle of Bordon Rioja Reserva for $28. It's sustainable and 2017; 80%Tempranillo, 15% Garnacha & 5%Mazuelo. According to the store note, it's aged 18 months in an oak and 2 years in a bottle. As the result, it's supposedly robust with notes of ripe fruit and cocoa and a hint of cedar which will be great for the season, I thought. Am looking forward to having it along with my hearty stew next time I cook. Let me tell you once I had it!

Expand full comment
founding

Bodegas 202, Cor Mei and Cupani are all excellent wineries...

Expand full comment